Need help with burn failure

I have been burning TDK+R with different versions of nero for a couple of years now and have not encountered many problems until recently. About a week ago, i started getting approx 1 failure out of every 4-6 disks when burning with nero 7. I had been using nero 7 for a while without problems. I checked the dvd drive (HP640b) and it says it is working properly, I have reinstalled the drive, I have re downloaded and reinstalled nero 7, and now I have tried nero 6 and still have the same problems. The failure cause was usually different on each burn, (no seek complete error, failure to read error). Can someone please help me, I’ve been doing this for a while but really don’t know much to troubleshoot this issue.

Hi HippieCat (nice nick! :bigsmile: )

Can you post a Nero log (if you’re OK with sacrificing another disc!)?

Also, it may not be relevant, but can you get the Media ID for those TDKs (use Nero CD-DVD Speed, found in Nero’s Toolkit)?

Just out of curiosity, have you tried another brand at all?

Edit: while you’re checking things out, is DMA enabled? Thread on enabling it here: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=101616

Sorry for the barrage of questions!

:slight_smile:

I saved the last log so if I can figure out how to post it I will. I have tried other disks in the past but found that TDK+R seemed to be the most consistent. I have been using the TDK+R for over 2 years now with no malor problems like this. No idea if DMA is enabled but I will check.

DMA is available on all.

Here’s the log

All I can think of is that TDK have used a different manufacturer for the media you’re using now…however, a Nero log will probably help anyone else who wants to help (when you reply, look down the reply page to where it says Manage Attachment, browse to the Nero log file on your PC and hit Upload).