Need help diagnosing cause of failed burns

AnyDVD 5.5.5.1
CloneDVD2 2.8.5.1
NEC DVD RW ND 2510A – firmware 2.18 (most recent update)
Legacy DVD-R 8X 4.7GB

I’ve been having numerous failed burns recently, and they’ve been becoming more frequent. While attempting to fix things this evening, I’ve had 1 succesful burn out of 4. “Creating DVD files” goes smoothly. The writing goes smoothly for a while then stalls permanently, usually somewhere between 50% and 90% completed.

I’ve been using AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 with the NEC burner for about 2 years, and I’ve been using the Legacy DVDs for about 3 months. I’ve had some problems with these Legacy DVDs since I purchased them – maybe 1 failed burn in 20 – but in the last week nearly every burn fails. I don’t recall any software additions that coincide with the beginning of the failed burns.

This evening I ran Spybot, AdAware, and JV16 Power Tools registry cleaner; I uninstalled AnyDVD and CloneDVD; I ran Disk Cleanup and I defragged my hard drive; then I re-installed AnyDVD and CloneDVD. My first burn after these steps was a success: I put in a source disc, CloneDVD created the DVD files and burned appropriately. Then I tried a second burn, which failed: I put in a second source disc, CloneDVD created the DVD files just fine, then stalled at 54% in the writing process. I didn’t open any programs or do anything else between the succesful burn and the failed burn.

So, I need to figure out if this is a software issue or a hardware issue, and I need to figure out what piece of software or hardware is causing the problems. Any help in diagnosing the cause of my problems would be much appreciated.

bwisialo,
I think you answered your own question and wasted countless time troubleshooting.
“I’ve been using the Legacy DVDs for about 3 months. I’ve had some problems with these Legacy DVDs since I purchased them”.