Need help/advice on purchase

Hello. Please refer to this link (New Egg website) for the details about the burner I am considering.

My intentions are to burn DVDs for viewing on stand-alone players. The format being burned will be mostly the usual VIDEO_TS files I get from ConvertX to DVD. I may occasionally (if possible with this burner) burn the odd .avi file from time to time, but this is not a “must”.

In researching, I read something about booktypes/bit setting.

My questions are:

1. Does this burner support booktype/bitsetting? Do I even need the capability?

2. What type of media would I need in order to burn the DVDs in order for them to play in a stand-alone? I read that the “+R” or “+RW” are needed. Is this true? Will “-R” or “-RW” work in the stand-alones?

I’m a total noob when it comes to video, but I don’t expect a very detailed explanation of anything. Just a short/quick answer will suffice so that I may make my purchase and also get the correct media with my burner.

EDIT: Oops. Sorry - where are my manners. Thank you for your attention:)

Wow that is a low price I think I might get one as well but I have to do some more looking into that drive. I don’t know if the drive has booktype setting but from my 20A4H drive it has the function you just have to use the lite utility to turn the drive so that any DVD+R media you use will be set to DVD-ROM format. That depends alot on the standalone unit you will play it on? For my media needs I use DVD+R and with the liteon utility have the booktype setting set to automatically change any DVD+R media to DVD-ROM during the burns. From your reading are you going from DVD to DVD or converting to DVD format? I would stay away from RW in either format they are best for testing purchase cause you can erase them to use again and are better suited for data storage not DVD movie burning.