Need assistance with burning a DVD please

I am new to this entire process so if someone could assist me in non-technical terms that I can comprehend I would certainly appreciate it. I just purchased a Plextor PX-740UF DVD rewriter and I have also purchased an all in wonder 9600 video card as well. I am attempting to undertake burning a DVD copy of a DVD movie I have just to see if I can do it and make a copy of an animated movie for my grandson to play on his DVD player. If someone could take me through this process step by step I would greatly appreciate it.

I am also needing to copy programs I have recorded on my Dish DVR recorder to DVD and would like to make sure I am using the best technology possible attempting to obtain a digital image from my DVR to my computer to burn it on a DVD. I am trading my DVR in for a replacement and I would really like to copy some programming I have of my son wrestling in the NCAA tournament to DVD before I send my DVR in for replacement. If anyone can assist me with what I will need in the way of software hardware and the steps to take in order to copy this from my DVR to my computer I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks in advance,
Mike

hi mike download dvdshrink u can find easily using google or wateva its pretty straight foward from there lol more practise the better u get.

No. That just wont work. The DVD has to be Decrypted. Use DVDDecrypter to write dvd to iso. Then Open up DVDShrink. Then File>Open ISO. Find the ISO then open and burn it with DVDShrink. If you don’t have Nero, you can use DVDDecrypter to burn also.

Errr… it might. DVD Shrink has decryption abilities built-in.

And DVD Decrypter won’t handle the lastest encryptions anyway. AnyDVD ($) or Ripit4me (free) are the better options.

OK does anyone know the answer to my second question regarding transferring digital data from my DVR to my computer? What are the steps to running the programs above and copying the files over to a DVD?