Need advice: Build or buy? (Low-end system)

vbimport

My dad wants a new computer for his private law practice. He knows nothing about computers so I advise him. I kind of want to build him a computer because I’ve never done it before and think it would be fun. On the other hand, I’m thinking it might be a lot easier and more cost effective to just buy a low-end Dell system and customize it a little. What do you think is a better idea and why? If you do think I should build, where’s a good place to start? I’ve done a lot of stuff with computers but never built from scratch.

My dad wants a new computer for his private law practice.

Yeah right! a likely story, have you thought about calling the FBI?

j/k :slight_smile:

Haha. :a

Computer for law practice == e-mail, web, word processor == yea, go with the cheapest whatever you can find and don’t even bother to customize because even the lowest of the low nowadays is overpowered for basic office tasks.

Well, if you want the most bang for the buck I suggest that you go for parts since it’ll will give you the most bang for the buck. As for guides I guess Tweak3D’s is pretty good despite its age. http://www.tweak3d.net/articles/howtobuildapc/

Here’s an example of a cheap PC from Newegg around 400 bucks (excluding a monitor (additionally ~120 bucks))

Mainboard: EPoX EP-8K9A7I

CPU: AMD Sempron 2600+

Video: ATI RADEON 9000

Memory: Mushkin 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200

HDD: Hitachi 80GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive

Case: ENLIGHT BEIGE ATX MID-TOWER CASE with 300W

DVD: NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive, Beige, Model ND-3500A BG, OEM

Floppy: SONY Beige 1.44MB 3.5Inch Floppy Disk Drive

If it’s too expensive you can shave off a few things, like the DVD-RW.
You can roughly save 40 bucks by getting a CD-RW instead.

SONY Beige 52x32x52 IDE Internal CD-RW Drive, Model CRX230ED, OEM