Need a new external hard drive & how to build my own

vbimport

I have been looking for the best brand of external hard drives, & I keep noticing people are suggesting building your own, if this is so, can someone suggest the best brands of hard drives, & enclosures, where are the best places to get these components? I am in USA California, would prefer to get something from USA.

I am totally new to making your own, could someone give me step by step instructions for this, I have never worked with computer hardware, just use computers & some software. I would be basically going into this blind, really need help, is it simple to do? or with my total lack of experience working with hardware am I better off buying a rady made external hard drive?

This has arisen from my recent problem with my iomega 250 gb external hard drives;

recently I wanted to burn some files, but windows or my USB port is having trouble seeing my drive contents; the 1st time, I plugged my external hard drive in, windows did not see it at all, usually the auto play starts & a window pops up with options for me to choose, so I know it is being seen, but this did not happen. I then shut down my PC & restarted it, plugged in my drive, & this time got the auto play & options pop up window, & windows could see it but gradually it could not see all the folders on my drive, the drive & its letter shows up, but when I click to open its contents, there is nothing, & I have dozens of folders on it. I also kept getting a yellow triangle with an exclamation point in it on the task bar at the bottom. I right & left clicked the triangle multiple times to open a window to see what it was about, but it would just go away & then pop up again.