Need a knowledgeable person's thoughts on current drive

I’m afraid to say when I bought my current PC, I was a complete PC noob so to speak, and bought a heap of junk from Dell. While I’ve replaced the vast majority of the parts (which will be transferable to a new PC when I build it), I still have the original DVD-Rom, CD-RW drive that came with my PC.

Basically, I’ve just bought a Lite-On LH-20A1H (for writing DVDs) to stick in my PC, and have started to wonder what my current drive is actually like, as previously I had no idea drives varied in quality, speed, etc.

I’m only planning to use the old Dell one for reading from now on, but I would be interested in seeing what people in the know reckon to its specifications, and how they compare to other drives on the market, bearing in mind I’m only interested in it in a reading capacity - it, nor a potential replacement would ever be required to write.

The specs (which I regret to say I don’t really understand) are here http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/storage/P68502/en/specs.htm

Apologies for being so clueless in this field, but like I said it’s really not something I’m into, and hopefully my posting in this section does serve as a warning :wink:

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Well, your drive is made by LG. I don’t have any experience of LG DVD-ROM drives, but the LG burners I have are fairly picky readers (for the most part, one model has been reported to be OK in that respect).

The LiteOn drive you’ve bought, on the other hand is a very good reader from what I’ve noticed :wink:

Hopefully someone who has/had LG DVD-ROM drives can comment further. :slight_smile:

How old is the drive unit itself and did dell have a link to updated for upgrade the drive firmware? take a look at this site and tell us if it matches your unit firmware?
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-60655