NEC ND4550A using up 100% CPU when burning DVD

vbimport

Let me warn you I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to burning DVDs!

My problem is this… I have a NEC ND4550A with firmware 1.08 and previously 1.06. With both firmwares when I have been burning DVDs onto various media - principally Ridata 4x DVD+R, Philips DVD+RW 4x or TDK DVD+R 8x. The burn is always successful but my PC is virtually impossible to use during the burn. The CPU usage shoots up to 100% during the burn and everything runs VERY slowly. Once the burn is complete everything is back to normal.

I am running XP home on a Dell Dimension 8400, 3Gig Pentium 4 and 1Gb of memory. I would have thought this should be ample to allow me to burn a DVD and at least browse the web at the same time!

I am a newbie so maybe I am doing something obviosuly worng. If so please don’t shout at me. Tehe experience is identical since upgrading to the latest firmware.

Here is a screen shot of CPU usage during a burn session

I would suggest to use the search function and read some already existing threads like this one: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=144011&highlight=cpu+usage

I guess your drive isn’t using the right DMA mode.

Hi Grimson,

When I first read your message I though arrrghhhh - haven’t you read I am a newbie and also, as it happens, I had tried a search (of course) but… I had searched under my model not knowing this is a more generic issue.