NEC ND-7550A and Reverse ATA firmware

vbimport

Hello, all!
I have a question (maybe few questions). I just bought new ND-7550A and I have a problem with master/slave conflict on Compaq Armada 1750 notebook. It uses only one IDE channel. When both HDD and DVD drive are connected, the computer will not boot up. I tried to connect the pin 47 to GND or leave it opened, but it doesn’t help:-( (it is strange, isn’t it?). So it seems, I have to use Reverse ATA Firmware.
I wanna know, if it is possible firstly dump curent fw version, use reverse ATA and sometimes in the future use the previously dumped firmware (I mean in case I will need back standard ATA function).
And other question - will be reverse ata firmware functional in my case?
Thank you very much for your replies.

Bye, Martin

Dumping the main firmware should be possible - the bootcode is not dumpable with public tools. But I already have master and slave bootcode for this drive, so there’s no need to back it up.

Normal ATA package is available, but it’s not public either. If someone needs it, just drop me a message.

Hey WTF, the master/slave/csell is decided by the firmware in notebook drives? :confused:

ALWAYS!

At least I haven’t seen master/slave/csel jumpers on these drives

Thanks Liggy.
You know, I tried to play with the drive again today and I found, that system still recognize it as a master. Connected pin 47 to ground or left it open has no effect:-( (can be this caused, that the drive was on the channel alone?).
Do you agree with me, that only reverse ATA firmware help? I am going to buy a slim/IDE adapter tomorrow.

It’s very hard to tell what exactly is going to help and it mostly depends on how the laptop handles IDE connections. The best solution always seems to be having a laptop that needs an optical drive set to master I think.

Hmm, I just saw my Panasonic 6X DVD-ROM SR-8174 has a jumper. :bigsmile:

And I have to admit that I only know NEC slimline drives :bigsmile: