NEC ND 3500AG won't burn (I think)

vbimport

Hi

I’m a newbie and I’m fresh outa ideas with this one.

I got a Dell 4700 about 4 months ago and it came with a NEC 3100 drive in it. I followed Liggy’s thread http://club.cdfreaks.com/lite/t-116574-p-1.html and flashed it to upgrade it to a ND 3500 AG firmware 2TB and that process seemed to work ok. It will read CD-R’s CD-R/W’s and DVD’s but i can’t burn DVD-r’s. I have only got DVD-R’s at the moment so can’t vouch for anything else.

I have been trying to use eProformance 8x DVD-R disc from the local shop, no idea what they are like, and Nero Express 6.

I made an image of a Linux DVD and then tried to burn it, Nero reported ‘Illegal Disc’, does this just mean my media is crap or something worse?

I have attached the log file from Nero.

Thanks in advance for any help

Barty

Yo-

Welcome to the forums-

Looks like you are trying to use some Crap Media-

Suggest you try and get (borrow) some good media like Ritek, Sony, Verbatim, Tayio Yuden or Maxell and see if it solves your problem (I would start off with 8x -R IMO)-

Mike

Hey Barty…

Since you’ve already tried that funky negative media, I’d do just the opposite of what Little Mike says. Try some quality +R media and if you can set your drive to Bitset.

Mark

Thanx for your help guys, I will go and buy some better media.

Barty.

Yo-

Smart move IMO-

Mike

Oh well the new Sony media has made no difference. When I look at the log Nero produces just before it fails it says ‘Book Type Automatically set to DVD-ROM’ what does this mean, is it right? I have proved I can burn CD-R and CD-R/W so that is still ok.

Please help … :sad:

Barty.

Download DVD Indentifier and post the media ID code of the Sony.

Now go to Slysoft.com and download AnyDVD and CloneDVD. Use these two proggies to burn your DVD+R media. USE 4X burn speed.