NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A fails burning Nashua DVD-R

Hi,

I bought a NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A with some DVD+R RW and a box of 50 Nashua DVD-R 4.7GB

Burning (TDK) DVD+R RW I did not encounter any problem.
When I tried to burn a Nashua DVD-R with several software like Nero, DVD Decrypter I have the following error:

Cannot write medium - incompatible format
When Cancel I got:
Failed to reserve track

Has anybody an idea why is this occurring?
I thought DVD_RW ND-1300A was compatible for both DVD+R and -R
Thanks in advance

Regards,

Rodrigo

this doesn’t really belong in the transcoding forum, but anyway…

ur firmware doesn’t seem to support those discs. try flashing to one of Herrie’s modified firmwares.

You are right, this query doesn’t belong here. Apologize for that (I’m new in this stuff).

Thanks for the info but could you be more expecific with firmware…you mean driver?

I just tried with another DVD-R media (That’s write) and it burns OK. So I’m suspecting that NEC does not like Nashua media.

Thanks.

PS: Do you know how to move this thread to the correct one?

Euro

I do not like Nashua media either, I´ve burnt 50 of those and every single one has lots of write errors.
My Nashua discs was Optodisck001 or similiar.

ive got the same dvd copier on my pc and i bought some datawrite dvd-r and i got an erroe message about the blank disks too,my manual and box etc say it takes all so i dont know but it wont take these ive got,im going to try the dvd+rw so see what happens,wasting money though!!!

All you guys are messing around trying to get no-name crappy media to work. Buy Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim or Sony -R 1X-8X Accucore (if the packaging states Made in Japan). Get them online if your local stores don’t carry them. Your problem will go away.