NEC AD-7170A + Verbatim MKM 003 DVD+R DL = terrible results?

Hi, I’m sorry if this wasn’t supposed to be posted here, but i figured that I’m a newbie and odds are this is a dumb question :stuck_out_tongue:

I just bought some DVD+R DL’s from the CDfreaks webshop, they are Verbatim’s with MID ( ? ) MKM 003.

I just burned 3 DVD’s (thought the first one was just crappy) and they all end up in lousy quality…
The discs were burnt at 8x and one at 6x, but this didn’t really matter.

Reading them at 5x instead of max made a small improvement, but 50% is waay to low as far as i know…

I added some screens from driveSpeed so you know what i mean.

I also updated the firmware to the latest version, i havent burned a new disc with this new firmware yet, i’m a bit hesitant to use up another disc if someone says it’s not gonna matter…

I’m new to the whole Dual Layer stuff, and my 7170 always did a perfect job on my single layer discs… with quality numbers always being mid-90’s (Plextor Taiyo Yuden T03’s and Verbatim MCC …)

Does anyone here know if i’m doing something wrong or whatever else can cause this?

Try burning with ImgBurn at 4x.

I burn them at x4 in my 20A4P or my 116D and the results are very good, only thing I can take a guess at it either your 7170A doesn’t burn those DL that well or the drives not that great for scanning in which case the results won’t looks so good. I can only take a guess on this as I don’t have a 7170A, maybe someone who has can give a better answer.

Agree with Kerry, slow down your burn for DL and use ImgBurn

Just downloaded IMGBurn. I’m now burning another one at 5x. (misread the 4x you said for a 5x, whoops)

I’ll see what this ends up like! What is/are the best way(s) to check a disc for quality? The DriveSpeed test i already did? Or are there other options?

edit: btw, these discs are designed to be burned at 8x, so i’m not overspeeding anything :slight_smile:

Somehow i cannot edit my previous post… well here goes then!