NEC 6750A troubles

hi all im new to cdfreaks and already i have a problem … i currently have a Samsung V25 laptop 1 yr old my old DVD/CDRW drive went wrong so decided to invest in a NEC 6750A DVD/RW the problem is its not recognised in BIOS…

the NEC 6750A is set to primary master and when i run nero info tool it reports my old drive (Teac) is primary master… if i boot with the old drive and then hot swap the two drives the NEC 6750A works fine and apears in windows and in Nero info tool…?

Any idea how i can get the NEC6750A to work from boot so i dont have to boot and swap drives everytime

thanks inadvance simon

Surely the NEC needs another firmware to work right.

how can i check to see what firmware im on now and which one i should be on?

You can check using Nero Infotool, Nero CD DVD Speed, Discinfo …

I just uploaded a new 6750 firmware to Dee’s and my site. 2.42 seems to have several updated strategies inside.

will that firmware work if u have your drive flashed in reverse ata? if not do u have any plans to release a way to change your drive back from slave to master ?

That’s not going to work. However it shouldn’t be too difficult to change this firmware from master to slave.

if not do u have any plans to release a way to change your drive back from slave to master ?

Changing a drive back from slave to master should be possible - even within Windows now - but the tool has not been thoroughly tested.

thanks for the quick reply liggy. this drive has been nothing but problems. i’ll be looking forward to any firmware updates you post. if you need a tester let me know ill be your lab rat hahah!

If you have an IDE adapter, you could indeed be a beta tester for my Windows based master/slave changer

im looking into ebay for that one…i used a usb external hd and a boot floppy to do my flashing to reverse ata

ill hit you up when i get one

also some information from another post on my problem