NEC 4571a DVD Writer

vbimport

:confused: Please excuse my ignorance but being new to a forum and a complete novice to upgrading my computer, I have just fitted a NEC 4571 a DVD writer to my computer, with no apparent probs, BUT, it recognises DVDs when I play a movie and CDs when I play music, but if I try to burn onto a R,RW DVD it wont recognise it and keeps asking me to insert a blank CD??? (the icon also changes from DVD RAM DRIVE to CD DRIVE when I insert the blank DVD). Please help as I`m a bit of a numpty when it comes to this… :o

Welcome to the forum. It could be a number of things. Have you an 80 wire cable? Is the jumper on the correct pin for the cable? What media are you using (media ID)? What are you burning with?

badger5855, welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

Are you using the builtin recording software in Windows XP? The builtin CD Recording software only supports burning to CD-R/RW but doesn’t support burning to DVD media.

In order to burn to DVD media you need other software such as e.g. Nero or Roxio Easy Media Creator, or whatever came with your drive or pc.

The fact that Windows changes the icon from a DVD drive to a CD drive when you insert blank media is a well known quirk of Windows - it will not affect your ability to burn a DVD if you have software capable of doing it.

WOAH! slow down. Told you Im a [U]bit[/U] of a novice at this sort of thing, all Im used to doing is tapping on the keyboard (slowly at that). How will I know what cable Im using, I always thought a Jumper was what you wore,(the media bit I get its TDK DVD+R), and Im burning with matches, no sorry Nero 5