NEC 3500A burns not high quality?

vbimport

Hi,

Here are my first 3 discs I burned so far. Are these quality burns? The first one pauses during playback at random points. Graphs made with CD Speed 5.33

Firmware on my NEC 3500A is 2.16 original

First MCC 02RG20 (Verbatim 8x -R) at 2X speed burned with DVD Shrink 3.2

Second is MCC 02RG20 at 12X speed with DVD Shrink 3.2

Third is RITEKG05 at 8X with DVD Shrink 3.2

Are any of these good quality. Can someone please give me some guidelines as to what I should be looking for in the PIE/PIF average/maximum/total values. Thanks in advance for your help. I am quite new to the DVD-R scene as you can tell.

gb

<=280 for PI and <=4 for PIF are good.

The scans look good… except of the 2x burn… don’t burn MCC02RG20 at 2x! minimum 4x.

Thanks, appreaciate the feedback. There is so much info on these forums it can be hard to sort through at first. The 2X burn was an accident, these are the first 3 discs I made. Is there any reason to change to a new firmware if the scans look good?

No I don’t think so… Just keep this firmware for now. If you would burn DVD+R then it would be better to switch to a firmware that supports bitsetting.

scanning on DVD drive isn’t recommended

Thanks for the help. Why would I not scan on my DVD-ROM drive (LiteOn LTD163)? I can’t scan with the NEC 3500A and the LiteOn is on the list of supported drived in CD Speed. Am I missing something?

It’s just that a DVD-ROM will not give an accurate scan and will usually show many more errors than a DVD burner. But as you said, you can’t scan on the ND-3500. so a scan on a DVD-ROM drive is better than no scan at all. :slight_smile: