NEC-3500 Fastest rip & Reliable Media

vbimport

Hello all you experts -
I am having a machine built to my own specs (2*Xeon 4G Ram etc).
I have also specified 2 NEC 3500 writers (expecting delivery next Wednesday). Now I am not an expert, but have been used to backing up my DVD collection with a couple of Liteon’s - A very fast ROM ripper and then burning with the Liteon 811S, works great.

All the dialogue relating to Firmware upgrades for the 3500 is a little confusing to me.

I just want to be able to Rip at a fast speed and write reliably to good media.

What would you experts suggest to achieve the above.
Many Thanks
Martin

keep the LiteOn for ripping and use NEC 3500 for burning :wink:

A good idea.

However, silly I know - the machine is being built all in black (a bit of a dream machine that I can’t really afford - but have indulged).

The Liteon’s are beige - and I am looking for all to match in black. The other thing is, I am hoping to burn to both NEC’s at once.

So, is there anything I can do to up the rip speed - and what would you suggest as good reliable media. In the past I have always used Traxdata without problem.

You can use a modded riplock removed firmware to up the rip speed… but that will not help much if you rip a DL disc.

Thanks for sticking with me on this.

You state that riplocked software will not help.

My understanding is (I might be wrong) that purchased DVDs are DL.
These DVDs rip very quick on my current setup. (*12 and higher)

Do I understand that you are saying; using riplocked software on the NEC to rip DL will not help i.e. no increase in rip speed?

If this is the case - I can only form the view that; Firmware is not available to enable my NEC to rip at the same speed as my Liteon - namely - nothing can be done to increase the ripping speed of the NEC.

Would you agree?

Further - any advice on the most compatible brand of DVD Media for the NEC?

Thank you again

Martin