Nec 3500/3520

vbimport

I ordered an NEC 3500 online recently (my first dvd burner) with the help of several posts on these forums. The online store said it was a 3500A and when it shipped the confirmation literature said it was 3500A also. However, It is by my bios and Windows to be a 3520, which is odd.

Anyway, I’m a newb, so anyone know how I can find out what kind of drive it really is?

I’d trust the BIOS and what’s shown in Device Manager.

Here’s a bit more info on this. It is identified in device manager as “_NEC DVD_RW ND-3520A”. I haven’t looked lately in the bios as to how it is identified, but that is what I remember the bios showing.

Believe it or not you received the newer model, but of course you can return the drive if you insist on receiving the exact item you’ve ordered :rolleyes:

That’s cool. I have seen a few posts here saying that the 3500 is better than the 3520 due to some reading errors. Now I’ve just read a few of these posts and I’m not certain that this is true. But the 3520 is overall better than the 3500, correct?

The 3520 is cheaper than the 3500, which is very suspicious.

Can someone explain that?

Here is the information from my order. Found it on Pricewatch. The website is http://store.combus.com

Item Name	  	SubTotal	 
1	  	NEC ND-3500A 16X16 DVD+RW/-RW DVD Recordable Drive

Audio Cable:: No
Burning Software:: Yes(+7.99)
Color Option:: Beige
DVD-R Media 5 pack:: No
EXTENDED WARRANTY:: No 30 Days
Expedite Shipping:: Ship in next 24 working hours (+$4.99)
IDE Cable:: No
Mounting Screws:: No
Priorty Mail:: No Regular 7-10 business days Mail if Fine
Retail Box :: No 70.98
Subtotal: 70.98
Warning: USPS (10-12 Business Day) is not a valid UPS shipping method. Tax or shipping may be added to your order. :
Shipping: 4.95
Tax: 0.00
Total: 75.93

as far as I know NEC found a supplier of a cheaper chipset, and as profit margins are low on dvd writers, ditched the 3500 chipset suppliers, and made the 3520 from the cheapies.