NEC 2510A not recognizing dl media

vbimport

I’m new to CD/DVD writing, so this is probably a basic issue:

I bought an NEC ND-2510A about a week ago and ordered a Verbatim DVD+R DL disk to test the double layer capability. When I inserted the disk in the drive for the first several times, Win XP would recognize it as a CD and report ~500-600M capacity. The last several times I inserted the DL disk in the drive, XP recognizes it as a CD with 0 bytes capacity.

I am running Win XP SP1. The 2510 is in an external box connected via firewire.

Is this a drive problem? An XP problem? otherwise? Your help is greatly appreciated.

glopact

Interesting you said this, I have a 2500A and it occasionally will register to windows as a CD Drive not DVD Burner, but it always ends up working when i tell it to bur. If I were you I’d just load up Nero or Clone DVD and see if it works when you get some data on it. When you get it burnt maybe then it will recognize as the 9 gig disk

Well, I was reluctant to risk turning a DL into a coaster, but indeed, I tried. Unfortunately to no avail. Error message to the effect of unable to access the drive… :frowning: This is puzzling as I have successfully written DVD-R, DVD+RW, and CD-R.

odd, my version of nero saw my 2510a as a 9 gig burner soon as I installed it. What firmware and burner app you running? :slight_smile:

I’m running the standard firmware and using Pinnacle Instant CD/DVD.

I don’t use Pinnacle, so really cant say if it supports dl drives. I hear it talked about here and there…usually good reviews, does thier site support drive updates, perhaps you need to update?

I use nero ultra 6.3.0.2 on a standard un-hacked 2510A firmware 2.15 without trouble.

I cant say for sure…but if it burns 4.7 and cd-r…I’d be more inclined to believe that pinnacle as installed cant take advantage of dl…

just my 2 cents