Nec 2500a to 2510

i’m new to the nec being a liteon drive owner…i decided to buy an nec drive for better dvd-r results so heres a few quick questions…i flashed to herries 1.7 beta4 (no dl)

1. what is the best firmware for quality burns. not too bothered about overspeeding i can use liteon for that.
  2. i read that i can flash my 2500a to a 2510. what are the advantages to that.
  3. are the firmwares for 2510 better than 2500
    i have read through quite a few posts but am getting lost in 3500 heaven lol…not a lot of posts about the 2500.
    thanks in advance
    the reason i am asking this is my dvd-r burns on the nec are very similar to the liteon according to kprobe.

The advantage of flashing to 2510 is dual layer and somewhat better firmware options. AFAIK there is no disadvantage to converting to 2510. Some people argue the 2500 was not optimized for dual layer, but many folks have burned dual layer 2500@2510 with good results. I am personally using mad dog 2F7 on my 2510 with great results. I switched from stock 2.16 because the maddog fw supports auto-bitsetting to dvd-rom on all + media. The Dangerous Brothers have firmware and flash tools.

not too bothered about dual layer as my liteon 832 can do an excelent job of dual layer… its more about the firmware. i would like quality burns rather than speed hacks. my liteon is superb at + discs (thanks to codeguys in liteon forum)…
i just want 4x burning of dvd-r at the highest quality. 14 mins a dvd is plenty fast enough for me.
so whats the best quality firmware (not speed) for dvd-r.

Herrie’s firmwares are committed to both speed & quality, so getting 107b5dl won’t hurt you at all! :slight_smile:

I think the latest stock 2510 firmwares will do what you want. The 25x0 will burn a belgian waffle. I can burn leaddata01 with low error rates.