Nec 1100a help. not recognising dvds

vbimport

Hello

I’ve just bought a 1100a and although it recognises my audio and vcd/svcd discs it will not see any dvds in the drive. It asks to insert disc even when theres a commericially bought one already in. I’m at my whits end. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Taff

The ND1100A is a DVD+R/+RW only drive. Check your DVD media type first.

Yep thanks. But it won’t recognise genuine/normal dvds (not recordable). I’ve a dual boot system 98se and xp and the problem’s the same on both. As I mentioned it does play burnt audio and svcd/vcd!

Taff

I am posting from a friend’s place right now, who wanted me to help with the same drive. After reading this post, I looked at her DVDs that she wants to write, I notice that they are DVD-R. I am not experienced with DVD-burners, but does this, then, mean that she cannot write to these DVDs?

Tucsontier

You cannot use a DVD-R disc in a recorder that only supports DVD+. DVD- and DVD+ are two different formats.

Originally posted by Tucsontier
I am posting from a friend’s place right now, who wanted me to help with the same drive. After reading this post, I looked at her DVDs that she wants to write, I notice that they are DVD-R. I am not experienced with DVD-burners, but does this, then, mean that she cannot write to these DVDs?

Tucsontier

Make sure NEC ND-1100A is used with DVD+R and DVD+RW media. Up to 4x DVD+R and 2.4x DVD+RW. Of course, it can also write to CD-R and CD-RW.

DVD-R and DVD-RW media are used with DVD-R/-RW drive/recorder. ND-1100A can read written DVD-R/-RW media but cannot write to it.

Hi