Near Field Communication (NFC) payment technology already proven to be insecure!

vbimport

Near Field Communication (NFC) payment technology already proven to be insecure!.

[newsimage]http://static.rankone.nl/images_posts/[/newsimage]Security firm Accuvant demonstrates just how insecure Near Field Communication is by remotely hacking various smartphones at the Black Hat conference.

Read the full article here: [http://www.myce.com/news/near-field-communication-nfc-technology-already-proven-to-be-insecure-62648/](http://www.myce.com/news/near-field-communication-nfc-technology-already-proven-to-be-insecure-62648/)

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

I’m supposed to do the promotion for NFC since that’s the subject I’ve been writing on for the last 12 months more than anything else, but it’s still difficult to understand why NFC was created. It is succeeding RFID, but can it really replace cash and plastic cards?

I have to admit that the whole concept of NFC has always struck me as tempting fate.

It’s surprising, but probably a good thing in the long run, that this has been discovered so soon and perhaps this will focus the efforts of the key people involved.

[B]Wombler[/B]

[QUOTE=Wombler;2646018]I have to admit that the whole concept of NFC has always struck me as tempting fate.

It’s surprising, but probably a good thing in the long run, that this has been discovered so soon and perhaps this will focus the efforts of the key people involved.

[B]Wombler[/B][/QUOTE]

Such weaknesses have long been pointed out though. Google knew it and admitted it. Accuvant is just one of the mobile security companies and such announcements are usually meant as self-promotions. Symantec was indeed very good at it.