ND6500A Reverse ATA problem

vbimport

Hi, I have been trying to get this unit to work in a Toshiba Sat Pro 4600 with no luck. The Original Firmware was 2.40 which I flashed back to 2.23 (NEC 6500 Original - Liggy/Dee) thinking this might work. I then used the DOS Reverse Flash utility. It works fine using the Desktop but not in the Notebook.

ADDITION: I tried to get drive back to Normal ATA for possible use as an external USB drive using the DOS Normal ATA utility but DOS reports " DRIVE IS OLD BOOT" so it remains in Slave Mode. Please Help as I am LOST!!

Total Beginner! (Firmware and Forums)

if u have an extra one of these interface adapters around try this mod to it.
many toshiba notebooks have troulbe recognizing this dvd drive properly and either generate and ide error #1 at boot or if they boot only install this drive as secondary slave rather than secondary mastwer as this drive requires if it is to reach full read and write capabilities.

i use radio shack silver bearing solder paster as it is cheap, a paste until a solder iron is applied and easy to get just right amount between the tiny connectors without screwing it up.

i posted the picture at this thread

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=180871

Hello Tecra, Thanks for the Info. However the drive won’t fit the Notebook with the adapter attatched. I need to get the drive back to Direct or Cable Select Master but the Normal ATA DOS utility from Liggy/Dee’s page keeps reporting DRIVE IS OLD BOOT and the drive stays as SLAVE. I was wondering if I could use the Windows Flash program Direct from the NEC website to flash drive to 2.24 F/W or if this would make the drive unusable?
Any advice is apprieciated.

i do not understand. r u saying the drive will not physcially fit in the notebook with the interface attached and the undercarriage and caddy screwed in?