Nd 5100a doesnt recognize blank disc

Hi, Newbie here.
I have a Dell Dimension 4600c with a NEC nd5100 a cd/dvd writer.
When I try to burn a cd or dvd, I get a message stating that the blank disc is full or not writable. This happens regardless of the software used ( wmp,real,sonic).
The nd5100a will read and play any disc store bought or recorded.
I have updated the firmware at the Dell site.
I can burn using a Lite-on external drive.

Any suggestions?

Thanks ,
Rusty

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Main causes of this problem can be two:

1. a damaged burner

2. a very low quality disc.

What discs are you using? Can you do a test of your burner with cd-dvd speed? You can find more informations how to make a test reagind this guide.

Link for cd-dvd speed does not work.
I am using TDK color CD-R 52x 700 mb discs.
I have not gotten out to try a different brand. Should I try a CD-Rw just for grins?
What brand would you recommend?
Oh by the way,
when I put the blank disc in, the drive makes a rythmic clicking sound and I cant hear the drive spin up.
It does spin up and I dont hear the clicking when I play a disc either store bought or recorded.

If the drive make so many clicking sounds, it can be damaged :frowning:

Thats what I was afraid of.
Is it possible for it to do that only in the burn mode?
I am wondering if could be just brand of discs.
Like I said, I only have a problem when trying to burn. Playback works fine

To exclude a problem with a specific media, you can do some tests.

Try to see if there are clicking sounds and reading problems with different brands of discs.

Try also to do a boot from a CD. To do this test you can use for example a live CD with a linux distro. These CDs will not change anything on your system (no linux installation), but if the drive is working you can run linux from the CD itself.

A good example is Knoppix.

Not sure if this counts but I did install Sonic from the CD that came with the PC with no problems.