ND 3540A changing its mind?

Hi, a newbie here.

Win XP
Nero 7 premium
ND 3540A, firmware 1.WB (previously 1.04)

My primary problem is that some of the data DVD’s (Giga master “YUDEN000 T02 (000)”) i had burned 12 to 3 months ago, and worked fine, are suddenly seen as either “blank CD” or windows gives a “Disc may be corrupted…” message.
I know they’re fake (they were given to me, i didn’t buy them), but isn’t it odd that they’ve stopped being recognised by the wery same recorder that burned and read them flawlesly before? the same discs, no random pattern.
This also happened with other disks (i can’t remember the brand, they were not mine).

note: each of them works fine on another comp.

IF this has been discussed before, please redirect me to the corresponding thread.

-I then flashed it with 1.04, at which point it stopped reading/writing all regular CDs (same message)*

Could an unsucceful flash KILL the CD support?

-Flashed with 1.WB (didn’t fix it)

*not being able to read CDs has been discussed in another thread, where DEE
suggested that it cannot be the firmware, but in my case it seems to be a suspicious coincidence.

Thanx for your patience.

Welcome to the forum.

A bad firmware flash would render the drive completely unusable. The fact that you have been able to flash the drive 2 times since then rules out firmware.

The only exception to this would be flashing the drive with a disc in the tray, as when the drive leaves safe mode and resets, the lens can come into contact with the disc and the lens can be damaged.

i flashed my 3540 with WA firmware,
after burning two discs, i tried it next day and it’s dead
can’t read any disk, and system hangs
I think it’s just an coincidence

First test the drive in another computer, then you will know if it is damaged or not.

ok, will do.

But is that to test if Windows has problems with the drive or if there are any hardware issues? Because i formated my HDD, installed XP and nothing.