ND-3520 question

vbimport

Hi! Im new to this fourm and I have a question about my burner.
As the title I have a ND-3520 burner and Im using Ridata 8X DVD’s (DVD code RITEKG05) I have FW 3.05 right now.Using nero ultra 6 to burn
My question is I want the best burn possable I really dont care about speed.
Is this FW a good one or is there a better one out there?
When I run the Nero CD DVD Speed what PI errors and PI failures are the best? higher or lower?
And what are the PI errors and PI failures?

Thank-you for your time

Hello Fig and welcome to the forum.
Firmware 3.07 is the latest official firmware for this drive.
Lower PI/PIF errors are always better, you may consider switching media to more reliable media though. G05 has had some serious quality problems.

Thank-you for the info Dee-27
I will update my FW to 3.07
What is the best media out there right now? and what lable is the media under?
Thanks again Craig

The best DVD+R media with the NEC 3520 I have found with the most consistent high quality burns and lowest PIE/PIF scores is Verbatim 16x DVD+R. I stock up when its onsale at a store like Best Buy - sometimes half-price!
I’ve tried Fuji 8x DVD+R (Ricoh media) which is my second best results on the NEC 3520. I’ve also some TDK 8x DVD+R (CMC media) that was very cheap on sale at Circuit City, but doesn’t give as good quality scores - I’d rate it average and I only used it for less critical stuff.

I’ve used Fuji and Ridata 4x DVD+RW (Ricoh media) for backup and reusable temporary stuff. I just ordered a 25 spindle of the newer Ridata 8x DVD+RW (Ritek media) that is supposed to be supported by the latest NEC 3520 firmware (3.07 and those based on that) - I recommend updating the firmware to a 3.07 based version, I use LD2.U5 myself, since it supports many of the newest media and the older versions don’t, and the LD firmware adds faster DVD ripping speed too.

Thanks for the info VeryBadBoy,