ND-3500A / Not recognized properly by Win XP? Help Please!

vbimport

Hello to all.

First off I’m a newbie when it comes to DVD Burners so I ask that you can please bare with me cause maybe it’s something stupid that I’m doing…

Anyways… I did research and purchased the NEC ND-3502A 16x dual layer DVD burner from Newegg.com. (I don’t see any references to a ND-3502A really anywhere… but I’m assuming the ND-3500A is the same thing basically?) The drive arrived yesterday and it came bare. (No software/drivers/etc… although from some posts I’ve read this is not uncommon from newegg)

I was able to get the drive installed just fine it appears… Windows XP SP1 had no problem recognizing it. However… no matter what software I use… none of them recognize the drive.

I attempted to update the firmware from the NEC website to v2.18 by running their firmware update utility but it would not fully go through. (There was a part during the firmware update where it would not detect the drive and it “should” allow you to then see the firmware version you have but the program kept closing on me…)

I tried to use Nero 6.3.0.3… Adaptec 5 and NTI CD-DVD Maker 5… none of the three would recognize the drive. The drive works it appears… it’ll read cds and play them on my pc all day… but won’t see it as a DVD burner.

Any thoughts/suggestions as to what I can try?? Please let me know if more information would help on this matter.

I apologize… it’s a ND-3520A NEC device.

:eek: 2.18 is a nec3500 fw. they are not the same drive at all (different chipset) if you flashed the 3520 with it and it took even partialy you have a big problem. may have toasted your burner. hopefully liggy, dee, quickiee, herrie, or tdb will spot this thread. they may be your only hope…

in the mean time you might try uninstaling your nec from the device manager and then reboot. this will only help if the fw didn’t take…

edit:
try flashing your burner with this official nec3520 firmware: