N00bie question: firmware and my liteon sohw-832s

vbimport

hi guys

im completely new to the firmware caper and basically have no idea. i have a liteon sohw-832s i just bought and have been reading up about firmwares. i have downloaded omnipatcher and all these firmwares (which i think are all the same thing, but just from different sites). ultimately im confused, can some1 please tell me what i can do with my drive, eg. what firmwares can i use to update my drive, and what benefits will i get from my drive? are different firmwares available which do different things to my drive? can i use a number of them in conjunction with eachother?

i downloaded the liteon firmware which is meant to improve media matching, is this worthwhile? is there anything else i can get that improves reading and writing, or even increases speed?

any help will be much appreciated :slight_smile:

thank you

Try reading the following 2 threads, they may help you make up your mind about what mods to do to your 832S.
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=107103
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=112103

Well for my experience so far with my SOHW-832S DL DVD drive I say its a keepers with the latest firmware. I dont see much gain switching to 16x other then the money you spend for it unless its the same price as th 832S. But for what I use to copy protected game and DVD. But if you wanting to burn CD and DVD get CloneCD v5.0.4.5 and AnyDVD v4.1.1.2 or v4.3.0.1 and CloneDVD2 v2.5.4.3 and install three programs and use the clonecd to burn copied protected game and DVD movies but for DVD if you want 1:1 you have to buy the DL disk which cost money but if you willing to fork the money its worth the investment. For Copy protected games just use the profile included with CloneCD 5 for protected games and that will do fine. Why, Cause I used it on my collections and it has worked on some hard to break CD games and make exact 1:1 DVD movies.