My Plextor 716A

vbimport

ok i just got my new plextor drive aswell as a 50disc spindle of ritec 8x dvd-r

i tried burning a game, using nero, didnt work, tried on plextors disc copy, didnt work, i tried making a 1-1 copy of I-Robot that i got for xmas, didnt work, i also tried also burning an image file from hdd, didnt work, these are all on the ritec dvd’s

so i tried burning Far Cry on the 16x verbatim dvd+r that came with the drive and it worked.

so im wondering if it was my dvds that i bought causing the problem.

my burner came with 1.03fw, right now im on the beta 1.04 fw

I was also reading most of the posts on here and found nothing on my problem, and also i didnt understand anything that you guys were talking about, im a newb when it comes to dvd burning, this is my first dvd drive, i have owned a plextor 10/12/32A and that drive was amazing, but it was time to upgrade

anyways sorry for the long @$$ post, but maybe someone can help me out :confused:

You just gotta love Plextor don’t ya… Luck! :wink: :wink:

well i have heard plextors lead the way in optical drives so i figure i would get this drive…

but i forgot to mention, in all recording, the software said that the recording was successfull, but when i but it back in my drive as well as my other sony dvd drive, they cant read it and the orange light flashes like crazy

i also burned a copy of NFSU2 on cdr’s (memerex) and they worked

Go back to the 1.03 firmware. Don’t use beta firmware on this drive. Many of the features are not present with the 1.04 beta firmware. It is said to support -R Double Layer Media which I’ve never seen. Try burning your media at a slower rate. I’m not sure what you burned them at, but with 1.03 you have power record anad autostrategy on. Use autostrategy. Good luck. I’m on my 3rd drive now. You could do a self-diagnostic test on the drive as described in your manual. I did and my first drive failed so I RMAd it.

Mark