My MPEG-2's don't play properly any more

vbimport

i created (from a dv cam and ulead video studio) a DVD quality file (i assume mepeg-2) a while ago and its always worked. But today i get NO SOUND at all!

Ive downloaded a LOT of video/encoding software yesterday
*dr.divx
*dvd decrypter
*ahead nero v6.6 ultra edition
*dvd shrink

i noticed that ahead nero installed all this indeo codec after the computer rebooted, but i don’t think it installed all of it cos it said i already had newer versions of something…

I looked at old captured video files from my tv tuner (winfast pvr) which is also in mpeg-2, and i get sound but NO VIDEO???

should i download a new codec pack or somthing? im still kind of new to this stuff

oh an ive tried it in windows media player, winamp, and nero media player.

Hi,

If you get the same experience in all the players then my guess is that one of the many(unneccessary I might add actually I have all the three) softwares you installed has also installed a corrupt mpeg2 codec(corrupt[most probably a demo] because it does not filter the mpeg2’s properly for dshow which is the playing filter of WMP). What happens when you install a new mpeg2 codec is that dshow prioritises that as the main filter for mpeg2’s after the installation. This happened to me once wherein I inadvertently( did not know) installed a demo version of Elecard Mpeg2 decoder. After that all I got was the display of files with the propreitary logo of Elecard which can be pretty frustrating. So what you have to do now is find out which of the many codecs you inadvertently installed(inadvertent because the standard installation of all softwares usually installs a lot of stuff you do not want. That is why while installing any player software you should always choose Custom installation and if there is something you do not want then deselect that).

Now here’s what you do: