My LG-GSA5160

vbimport

Joined the forum after buying this burner. I got my LG GSA-5160D from Futureshop. This is my first DVD Burner, I have tried Memorex DVD+R and DVD+RW (I thought they would be compatible with more DVD Players, I was wrong…coz I am new to this whole thing).

Learning curve is steep and hard to climb. So far I have corrupted 1 DVD+RW (from 5 i bought), Corrupted 7 DVD+R (Successfully burned 5). I have 13 new DVD+R Left. I guess Memorex aren’t so good after all.

My Burning habits:
DVD+R:
Used Nero…and corrupted lots of disks. While burning it seems to work. After the initial burn, it stops progressing. The time goes on and on, and the burn says 100% (Sometimes, mostly it remains less than 100%). It shows time left 0:00…total time increases…it never prompts me with the COMPLETED window…it doesn’t finish even when I leave it on for the whole night.

I switched to Record Now Max…it seems too burn smoothly. When I want to burn Mp3 disks…it does not detect the drive (firewire connection).

DVD+RW

So far nero only corrupted 1 DVD+RW from the 5 i burned. InCD seems to work fine. The one corrupted had the sameproblem as above. While erasing it never finishes the process. In the end I had a scratch on the disk…complete circle. I returned that DVD Drive and now I am using the new one.

I am not sure what is wrong as I am new to this whole thing. It seemed to me that it was nero. It also seemed to be my computer which has only 256 MB ram. Your suggestions will be awaited.

I kept it because I thought I might get the problems solved soon. If I do not do better before this DVD Spindle runs out, or before the 30 days return time expires, I am going to return it and wait for more drives to come to the market. So far I like all of its reviews.

I am not sure what media is best for this thing.

So far I have managed to flash the firmware for the bridge…am looking out for more tweaks.

You can find some of the most appropriate media for GSA-5160D here.