My Idiot Guide to Perfect DVD's

vbimport

I’ve been wrestling with “all the issues” for the past 6 months. I think in the last two days I have found my answer(s).

Here is how I will be making my dvd’s until I move up to blu-ray.

1. Use my Liteon’s 5005 and 5045 to record to rewriteables. These liteon’s give identical pictures equal to tv broadcast quality at their 6 hour settings. Noticeably better than computer cards recording at twice the bit rates.

2. Take disk to computer and drag & drop contents of the video folder to my harddrive. If disk has failed or is not readable by the computer, use IsoBuster to recover.

3. Use mpg-vcr to edit files and create final dvd compatible mpgs.

4. If isobuster recovers file but it won’t open, use Chainsaw to cut off the first five minutes of the file. This has recovered every unplayable file so far. ((about 3)).

5. Burn the resulting mpg files to a dvd as a data disk.

6. Play the dvd in my computer or to the tv via either of the Liteon’s which display the dvd’s indistinguishably from a righteous dvd. ((disks display differently in the computer but not on the freestanding units-that surprised me.))

This results in the easiest to create, quickest to create, best quality dvd’s I have found in the 6 months (using 3 computer cards and 5 software programs) I have been trying to do this.

Thanks for all the help all of you have given me the past few months. I’ll let you know if I have to change my mind. But “right now” I’m a happy camper. ///bobbo.

What reason do you have for not using DVDdecrypter in IFO mode to rip the relevant PGC to the HD?

As an example the disc I worked on today was an episode of 24, using the above is a transfer of 2.1gb to the HDD, doing a drag and drop is a 4.2gb transfer so takes considerably longer.

I thought he was going to tell us a cheap place to buy them. :rolleyes: :bigsmile: