My first scan (newbie) some issues - weird graph

hi
i just done my first few scans and like you see there is this “problem area” in the beginning of the charts… not just with this scan but all my scans so far look EXACTLY like this. what could cause such a “outbreak”?

• i burned with 8x and 16x time speed (no big difference)
  • i have some software running in background most of the time…
  • my benq drive is on the 2nd ( SLAVE ) slot
  • qsuite is set on default (SB / WPOC both on)

i won’t ask if i get better burns with SB / WPOC turned on/off cause i figure i just have to test it out…

-is the quality check that i done the only test i should do for my media ?
-i read in this forum that benq 1650 and 1655 are hard to find is that right?
-are there any downsides to those drives?
-i also read at this time, CDSpeed only checks C2 errors on most drives. but in my case it checks c1 and c2 so maybe its just a misunderstanding…
-and finally i’m wondering why so many ppl have so many drives (up to 10 drives for a single person) …

You have an acceptable scan , despite PIEs between 0.4 & 0.8gb.

I usually burn my MCC004 at 12x on my 1650 (& my other drives) & apart from the rise in PIEs at the start would get similar scans.

I think that SB is not on for known media as a default but I keep mine on as do many others. If yours is off for known media try with it on.

Some people had issues with the BCHC firmware version so I never updated mine from BCFC. You could try BCIC which might suit better for you.

You could also try a transfer rate test (TRT) which should be a nice smooth graph.

Overall that’s not a bad scan. You also need to do a Transfer Rate Test to ensure that the burn is readable.

The downside to Benq drives is Benq drives will probably not have very much firmware support anymore since they handed their optical drives division over to Lite-On.

As far as # of of burners for some people…come on now, we’re [B]FREAKS![/B]