My first DL burn - pretty bad scan

vbimport

Verbatim+R DL rated at 2.4x
Burned with 1620 B7W9 WOPC on at 2.4x
Did 2nd burn at 4x, same bad result.

Any suggestions for improvements? Should I go back to B7T9?

BTW, DVDdecypter was used to make ISO and IMGBURN was used to burned.

Try scanning at 8x as that’s the recommended scan speed for Benqs. Might change the result, although the read speed didn’t exceed that anyway.
Also that looks like an old version of CD-DVD Speed. Try an update.

Thanks for your reply. I updated cdspeed to latest, and scanned with 8x. Same bad result. The quality on layer0 is 95%. As soon as it changes layer, it spikes. I hope I did not get a bad batch of blanks. These Verbatim are made in Singapore.

I’ll go back to B7T9 and see what happens.

Same bad result with B7T9. Is it the bad media or is it my drive since I have never done DL before?

I’ve only ever burned 2 but on my LG 4163B & they were lovely, unlike yours. Here’s my first one:-

I bought the Verbatim on sale at Staples Business Depot. They come in 3 packs. I’ll return the second pack, and buy a spindle of 10. Hope it will be better. The copies play well with no problems, altho I do not like the scan :a

Does the disk play ok? I have had issues with questionable dual layer scans with my benqs but the disks play and scan fine on other drives (liteons and plextors).

the 4163 is a sweet drive… :flower:

SO far, the disks play ok. In fact, after the burn, IMGBURN verify the disk and said it was ok. It is just strange that the first layer was burned with 95% and at the layer break, all hell broke loose. I’ll buy a 10 disk spindle and try again. Maybe there is something wrong with this batch, but then the likelyhood of having the same burn 3 out of 3 is indeed rare probability. Maybe there is something wrong with the scan (I hope).

Not sure without another drive to verify the scan it would be hard to tell if it really is a bad burn. Does your drive scan other media ok?