My first burner: help getting set up

So, I’ve just received my first DVD burner (NEC ND-3550a) and need a little help getting up and running. I am a complete newbie to burning, so any advice is greatly appreciated. I have recently installed additional RAM and a new hard drive, so I’m not afraid to crack open the case and install things. I’m really not skilled at all, I can just read a manual and follow instructions fairly well. For my new burner, however, I bought it OEM. I’ll put my questions numbered below so they’re easier to see and answer.

1. any recommendations for step-by-step guides to installing burners? Btw, I have a CD-R drive already installed.

2. I’ll be needing to transfer movie and data files from my pc to dvd. I really need to back up my mp3 collection as well. Can you recommend any good freeware for this?

3. can a dvd burner burn CD-Rs?

4. I’ve read snippets of things about burners being able to play dvds. Is there something I need to install?

5. any recommendations for media type?

I actually had more questions than this, but that’s all that come to mind at the moment. Thanks for reading!

Try this site Optical Drive Installation

Try this one, it will get you going CD Burner XP Pro But look at getting Nero for the future…

Yup… :iagree:

You can try this free one VLC Media Player Or you can buy WinDVD or Power DVD…

VERBATIM Taiyo Yuden VERBATIM Taiyo Yuden VERBATIM Taiyo Yuden
OK?

Yo pipemanid-

[B]“Verbatim TAIYO YUDEN Verbatim TAIYO YUDEN Verbatim TAIYO YUDEN”[/B] :iagree: -eh!

Mike

Touché… :slight_smile:
Other than the bias, accurate…

Yo-

Thought you would like that-eh!

Mike