My First Build, can't install drivers for RADEON 9800 PRO

vbimport

This is my first build and I’ve got to the point of installing the drivers for my Radeon 9800 Pro graphics card. They appear to install ok and when I click on Finish to reboot, the PC reboots but the screen turns black and shuts off immediately after the XP logo appears. In order to get back into Windows I had to uninstall the drivers in Safe Mode. I have now downloaded the latest ATI Catalyst drivers, installed Network Frames 1.1, which ATI say is required, but the same thing has happened with the new drivers. Any suggestions as to whats wrong would be appreciated. Cheers.

My only sugestion would be to use the ATI uninstall App (Uninstalls all ATI applications) and try loading again. I don’t know if this is applicable but did you install Mobo chipset drivers?

Can u tell me what drivers u instaled (exacly) and what Win XP u got ?

btw did u instal before mainboard Drivers, maybe u got some notinstaled device,did u try to instal drivers from device menager (or hardware menager i dont have eng ver of Win), did u check break’s ( interruption, or something dont remember eng name i got edited Bios … to polish :stuck_out_tongue: long time ago:P) in Mainboard Bios? maybe there is conflict^

sorr i cant edit post … =/

maybe there is probem in dispay mode ? u said there is black screen after boot screen of windows what is max resolution of your monitor ?

Too late to edit. Or DirectX Maybe?

I used the ATI uninstall panel, then downloaded the latest ATI drivers and re-installed but the same thing happened. I had already installed the nVidia MoBo drivers before I tried to install the ATI drivers.