My drive might actually be a 1655 instead of a 1650

My Dell E510 came with a Philips DVD8801 DVD drive and shortly after purchasing the computer I crossflashed it over to a BenQ 1650. I’ve been using it successfully that way for a couple months now.

Today I was installing a new drive (Lite-On 160P6S) and in the process I examined the Phlips drive closer than I ever have before. In small text it says BenQ. And in one other place it says 1655!

When I bought this computer I believe a LightScribe drive was an upgrade option that I didn’t purchase, so I’m really surprised if this actually is a 1655.

Aside from buying LightScribe media and trying to print, is there another way to tell if this is actually a 1655?

Thanks.

Flash it to 1655 and see if the red LED is on inside. Open the tray and look towards the bottom center.

Welcome to the forum:
First by cross flashing the drive I hope you know you have avoided your completely warranty for your Dell System, second if your newly discovered drive (BenQ 1655) been shown as LightScribe drive then it is 1655 otherwise is 1650. Good Luck.

BTW, I just crossflashed my drive over to 1655 BCGB firmware and did a test burn/scan. This is the best burn I’ve ever got with MCC004 media! And I’ve tried pretty much all of the 1650 firmwares! This was with all the default settings in QSuite.

Hummmm…not totally sure what I’m looking for, but I didn’t see any kind of light inside the drive.

I felt it was worth it to void the warranty on a $40-ish drive to get access to BenQ’s firmware, QSuite, etc.

Scan quality performance between percentages of 92-%97 is normal and easily can be achieved only percentage of 98 - %99 is hard to get.

That may not be an amazing burn, but considering I was getting much higher PIE/PIFs and never broke 96% with the 1650 firmwares with MCC004…I’m pretty happy.