My computer won't recognize Verbatim (lightscribe) dvd+r dl's why not?

Hello everybody! :smiley: Newbie here. I just purchased and built a new desktop system a month ago.

I’ve been recently using a few software programs to duplicate a few things and recently bought a pack of Verbatim 8x DVD+R DL’s and I’m scratching my head at this.

The computer doesn’t recognize the media at all.

I’ve tried using Nero and DvdFab specficially, but even under windows, it doesn’t recognize the discs.

I’m using a Liteon IHAS422-08 (I own two of them) brand new, manufactured in december of '08 and neither drive will read them.

I have from what I understand according to Liteon, the latest and greatest drivers for the drives (4L12) and even going to the website to get the latest driver would essentially downgrade me a step (4L11). At least that’s what online tech support said, though they weren’t very helpful.

I’ve attached the infotool.txt info that Nero gave me, while the DVD was in the drive.

Fyi, the drive that actually had the blank DVD in it was Drive E:

I’ve searched the forums and there isn’t an exact question related to my answer, though I have found a few threads where some people have suggested that the overseas (made in singapore I believe?) discs are better?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Where are the drives connected to? It may simply be a SATA controller issue and not a media problem - unless you’ve tried single-layer (or another brand of DL) DVDs and successfully read and burned some (or even CDs), then its a media problem for sure.

If you could provide more info with your hardware setup (OS/SATA controller chipset/etc) we could probably shed some light on this issue.

[QUOTE=evo69;2235611]Where are the drives connected to? It may simply be a SATA controller issue and not a media problem - unless you’ve tried single-layer (or another brand of DL) DVDs and successfully read and burned some (or even CDs), then its a media problem for sure.