My computer shows LG GSA-4167B as a CD drive

vbimport

Hi, its my first time here, and i m kinda a newbie on stuff about dvd drives.
sry if the same question was asked before… i couldnt manage to find it…

I got LG GSA-4167B around Feburary this year, and it hasnt read any data dvds that i have burned ever since… i didnt bother to fix it until now…
the reason is because, everytime i enter a dvd the drive automatically turns into a CD drive from DVD-RAM.
It some how magically reads dvd movies (sometimes)… and it can burn dvds, and read normal cds.
by burning dvds i mean data dvds, and they are readable by my other friends’ dvd drives. i use nero to burn them, and they seems to be works fine when burning, but it just want read any dvd thatz in it.
i tried to unintall the device and reboot, but it didnt work, and i tried to install the driver i got from the LG website that was provided on this site.
nothing works…

Can someone plz help me… i really want to read some of the dvds i burned…
thank you in advance!

It is just the explorer which is telling you lies. It has a bug, m$ calls it a “feature”.
It’s not needed to use the explorer with blanks of any kind. For that you have software like Nero, to be able to burn data onto cd and dvd media…

As Chef said before…
This doesn´t indicate any problem of the drive, but is merely a cosmetic problem that does not limit the functionality of your drive at all. Windows uses different icons for the optical drives installed, depending on the media inserted in the drive. :rolleyes:

If you cant read back any of the burnt discs then yes you have a problem. This is typical of the “PSU issue” with this model drive.

You basically have three options :

1. Drop a lot of money on a new PSU (power supply unit) for your computer and pray that it fixes the problem.

2. Try the “capacitor fix” (search for posts under my username).

3. Exchange the drive for almost any other brand/model and it will probably work fine with your existing PSU.