My cd/dvd player doesn't recognize dvd-r or dvd-rw anymore

vbimport

Hello all, I am a novice to this stuff so please bare with me. I have a toshiba laptop that has a dvd/cd player. I have nero and burn dvd/cd’s before. Now all of a sudden it doesn’t recognize my dvd-r or even dvd-rw. It will only play my original dvd’s. I would put in the dvd-r or rw and it would just spin for a few seconds and just turn off. It doesn’t even recognize it. It would freeze my computer sometimes untill I eject the disc.
I have been reading all over the internet about some of the solutions and I tried a few. I have a matshiti uj-840. I have tried these so far, I uninstalled the drive…rebooted, nothing; I have uninstalled my nero and reinstalled, nothing; deleting something about the upper and lower filters; (put them back with restore) I don’t know if I need to reinstall windows xp. Someone was saying that I might have to do that. I hope not.
I hope it is not my drive because I called around and I was told that Toshiba requires ‘master’ drive only and I can’t seem to find that anywhere…only Toshiba ~$300!!
Please any help couldn’t hurt.

Wow, I thought by now I would have at least one person with some kind of advice. Well, I hope someone out there might know what the problem could be.

I don’t understand. Is this not a common problem. Am I screwed?:sad:

Anybody out there?? :eek:

Well, I hope someone is able to point me in the right direction soon. I am going crazy here! :doh:

[B][I]Well, I guess I will have to go to another site. This site doesn’t seem to have anyone knowledgeable.[/I][/B]

Your drive is probably broken - Matsushita’s slim DVD-RAM drive are extremely unreliable. If you don’t want to pay 300$ for a new drive you should buy some externel drive, it would cost you much less money.