My 4x burner wont burn sony disks at right speed

vbimport

hello guys

i’m a complete newbie and appreciate if someone can figure out the problem?? also not very technical so if you can please explain things as simply as possible?! hehe

ill try to give as much info as i can–

sony dvd+rw 4x (sony s11)
Manufacturer Code: 10DPW120AS2
made in taiwan

ive got two pics (not sure if they are showing) that show some details of my dvd drive and the driver-
it says my optical drive is HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4082N

i have no idea what that means… lol - does anyone know what brand that is or how to upgrade the driver for it?

so for some strange reason when i try to back up some important files nero only allows me to burn it at 2.4 speed (ive added pics)

hope someone can help case its been stressing me out!

hugzzz

Your drive is an older LG 4082 drive and it is doing what it is supposed to. The media you are using will only burn at that speed. If you want higher speeds you need to get a newer RW media. You should also post in the LG forum to see if anyone has a suggestion on getting a newer firmware to help with newer media.
Because it is a GWA it is generic and may not work with the GSA firmware. Newer models do but I am not sure about the older models.

Oops, missed the 4X designation. My fault for not being current on Sony media. The newer firmware shoud do the trick as said below. The current version is A208.

Welcome to the forum.

Your burner’s firmware probably does not recognize those particular discs (media code S11), so it’s reverting back to 2.4x. Your burner is an LG, with newer, updated firmware there’s a good chance it will recognize the media code and burn them at 4x.

Here’s a link in the LG forum here at Cdfreaks that has links to LG firmware - http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=120485

Update to the latest firmware for your drive and give it another try.

thank you so much for the warm welcome chas0039,