My 411s - Bad drive, bad media (Ritek +R), or weird KProbe?

Ok, I’ll be the first to admit, I’m new to DVD burning and the 411s is my first (but I’ve had many CD burners). I’ve finally gotten around to some serious testing and I’m getting results that seem nowhere near what other “good” results are.

So, here’s some extensive data. I appeal to the great ones here to make some educated observations. :bow:

Constant data. Completely reloaded system (other issues there) running WinXP. Plenty of free space and not fragmented. Burning with DVDDecrypter exclusively. Drive is a 411s running the latest FSOJ firmware. Using LiteON’s latest Booksetting utility to set the +R’s to type -ROM for compatibility. Burning kids movies mainly to prevent the dreaded scratches of death that have already claimed a few victims :a All the media here is Ritek labeled RiDATA 4x (Arita from OfficeMax sale). The media code is

00000000 08 02 00 00 01 0F 01 00 00 03 00 00 00 25 E1 CF .............%..
00000010 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 52 49 54 45 4B 00 00 00 52 .......RITEK...R
00000020 30 32 01 38 23 54 37 09 00 3C 65 00 A0 5F 14 14 02.8#T7..<e.._..
00000030 0A 0A 0A 0A 01 19 1B 0B 0B 0E 0F 01 00 00 00 00 ................

All scans are 8ECC, but scanned at 4x AND at 1x. In one case I’ll point out, I tried burning the media at 2.4x and scanning it at 4, 2.4, and 1. The 2.4 burn didn’t look all that good. Based upon the 1x scans, the media appears useable in all of these, but I’m still wondering what in the heck is going on? Do I have a marginal or bad burner? Should I RMA it? Or do I have really back luck with media. I’ve tried a few other brands with very similar results including some Imation, HP, and even a pack of Apple 4x DVD-R’s (Maxell).

Here’s the first pair.

And the 1x scan

And another pair, first the 4x scan

And the 1x scan