My 3 3520A's won't burn

vbimport

I sure could use some help with these NEC ND-3520A drives. Yes I’m new to the DVD burner world. I’ve read the forums here but still couldn’t solve my problem.

I bought 3 Nec 3520A’s and below you can see the 3 different machines I put them in and none will burn. All I want these burners to do is burn data files…mainly digital pictures, ProShow Gold & Photodex SlideShows. None of these machines have Nero, Roxio or any other burning software. They still have the original firmware 1.04, if an update is needed, I wanted to make sure with the members here first.

The 1st machine won’t even let me move the files to the drive. I get this pop up that says “Confirm Stream Loss” your file has extra info that may be lost if you continue. When asked to continue I click yes but it remains saying “Retry” “Retry”.
Since there is more than one burner I made sure to go into it’s properties and enable CD burning on that drive. I searched around the net about this error, it seems to be a problem when moving files between NTFS and Fat 16/32. So how does this relate to my Nec 3520A? The only other program in this computer is Norton other than needed drivers.
The CD-RW will burn and when I switch the cables between the burners in the machine it still doesn’t help the Nec.

The 2nd and 3rd machines allow me to get the files to the burner but both of these Necs will not burn the files. It says “Insert a writable disc to continue”. So it’s not recognizing my empty DVD-R’s. I’m using Taiyo Yuden DVD-R 8x and Ridata Ritek DVD-R 8x. Will a firmware update, Nero, SP2 or something else fix this. If I need Nero, I have 3 of them that came with different hardware items. Nero 5.5.9.9… Nero oem Suite…Nero Express 5.5.10.53 … I just want to burn data.

1st Machine specs…

This computer only has VIA Sata drivers, ATI drivers, Audigy 2ZS drivers and Norton AntiVirus.

It was just reformatted

Athlon 64 3000+
Asus K8VSE Deluxe
2x512 Kingston PC3500