Multiple DVD Backup Problems

I’m new to DVD backup and have had nothing but problems. I’ve searched for solutions across this entire site but can’t seem to find an answer to my specific problems. I’m about to give up. Please help??!!??

Almost every DVD I’ve backed up is not playable even in the drive it was burned in. I am getting a skipping and freezing on each DVD about 20 minutes into the movie. I started out with HP media and switched to Verbatim (MCC 003) after some research. Unfortunately, I’m still having the same problems. My software is - DVD Shrink to decode then Nero 6 to burn. I’ve burned everything at 2.4x or 4x and still not much luck. I’m running this in a laptop (Gateway) with 512mb ram. The drive is QSI DVD±RW SDW-082 with LX44 firmware. All DVDs I’ve burned have been +R media. The only thing I’ve seemed to have any success with is Pixar.

I’ve attached two screen shots of a Nero quality test and a scan disk. The media looks to be in good shape, but the QT shows high values? Is this a result of my drive? Does the drive contribute to this?

Also, I can only run the QT of nero sometimes. I was able to run these then about 90% of the time I am getting initialization errors. Why would it work part of the time?

Finally, I’ve tried DVDINFOPRO when Nero drive speed isn’t working and it seems to freeze part way through. When all this falls through, I have to power off. I can’t seem to kill and process or end the program.

Thanks for any help you can provide. I’m hoping that there is a quick fix. I’ve ordered TY +Rs and they’ll be here wednesday. That’s really my last shot at this…

UPDATE:
I’ve been burning +Rs as booktype: DVD-ROM. I changed this setting in Nero CD-DVD from Disk Type to Book Type and can scan consistently.

So, are all your problems fixed, or are you still having playback issues?