MPEG 2 file too big

vbimport

I’m very new here. I am a sixth grade teacher in Indiana. I am familiar with most computer terminology, and what I don’t understand, I research. I guess that’s why I’m here. My name is Wade, and I’m trying to be increase my video technical aptitude. My problem is with my new software Power Director. I have a 4.45 gig file that I can’t cut anything out of to reduce its size. I want to keep as much quality as I can, but my only option withing Power Director is to reduce the file size to 2.85 gig, under a DVD SP setting. This really reduces the quality and doesn’t utilize the data in my mpeg 2 file, or utilize the 4.7 gig space available on my single layer DVD burner. I’ve contacted Cyberlink…Power Director help, but I think this is the best I can get from this software. Any suggestions for options? Thanks for helping, Wade

If it is a DVD compliant disk ,then use DVDShrink to reduce size!

T0nee1 is right. If it is an mpeg2 in dvd format, DVDShrink is a good, fast solution for what you want to do. If it isn’t already in dvd format, I believe Power Director will output as a dvd, then you can reduce the size.

There are some free dvd authoring tools you could also use, like DVDStyler or GUIforDVDAuthor if you can’t seem to get Power Director to cooperate.

Another choice to reduce the size of the video would be DVDRebuilder. There is a free version of Rebuilder and it includes a couple of free mpeg encoders. I’d use the HC encoder. This process would take a lot longer than Shrink, but the quality you get on most dvds will be slightly better. For the very small amount of compression you need on this particular video, the difference wouldn’t be perceptible.

@kerry56,
good luck wade! but kerry I have both the free and Pro DVDRB and new versions are out!
best regards!!!