Movie Burning Newbie

Hi Gang,
Though I’ve been doing CD burning for years I just got a Liteon LH-20A1H-184 DVD burner and plan to start making backups of movies. I’m totally new to this and don’t have much knowledge. Which is the best program Alcohol or CloneDVD with Anydvd? Is 4.7 gig disks ok or do I need the 8. disks? I just ordered Memorex 4.7 gig 16x DVD-R + disks. If a movie is DVD - can I use these disks, also are most movies done on + or - format? Sorry for all the questions gang but as I said this is totally new to this. Thanks for any answers you can give me.

Bill

Ohhh most people on these forums will tell you Memorex discs suck. I’ve never tried them tho so I can’t comment on that.

AnyDVD and CloneDVD are excellent choices, AnyDVD breaks the protection and CloneDVD is (I’m informed) very easy to use and makes nice quality backups. Give them a go, you can get 21 day trials of both. I have purchased AnyDVD, but I don’t have any experience of CloneDVD.

Anybody have any info on the technical issues I brought up. I got Memorex as I found them to be the most reliable cd-r media through the years. Are they not good in DVD-R format?

I’d suggest using +R’s and booktyping them to DVD-ROM.

Memorex never never never never it is just a name they buy there disk from whoever will sell them cheap.

Hi Mywhitfield,
What do you mean by booktyping? Term is new to me

i suggest dvd shrink…it will shrink the movie so it could fit on a disk and it burns perfictly over dvd locks (it works for me so far)!!! :slight_smile: