Movie Backups with 2510A

vbimport

Okay, like the username says, I’m a total Newbie to the DVD-burning process. I don’t even have one yet, but I’m pretty convinced that I’m going to buy a NEC 2510A pretty soon. I have a couple questions that I’m hoping y’all can answer:

1. What other equipment do I need to backup my movie DVD’s? I have a pretty fast computer (Dell Dimension 4600, 3.06GHz w/HT, 512MB RAM), but I’m just using the built-in video. Do I need to get a new video card in order to rip my DVD’s, or will the standard hardware do it? The last thing I want to do is spend money on DVD media if I’m going to burn a bunch of coasters because the DVD rip was too slow or something.

2. I gather that DL media is pretty limited (and $$$) right now, but has anybody tried ripping movies to it yet? Do they play worth a darn in set-top players? My set-top DVD player is supposedly pretty compatible with DVD-R (JVC XV-F95), but I don’t know if the DL media will throw a spoke in that or not.

3. Anybody tried ripping TV series DVD’s? I heard, anecdotally, that TV series DVD’s could pose a problem because they’ve got so many episodes on one disc, but I dont’ have any experience with it myself. My thought is that the dual-layer discs would be ideal for this, but I’d like to hear somebody’s experience burning a TV series DVD to a DL disc and replaying it on their set-top DVD.

4. How about repair of scratched DVD’s? One thing that I love about my CD-RW drive is that I can read some of my CD’s that skip a lot, burn a copy of them onto a $0.10 CD-R, and they play perfectly. It’s a very cheap, very effective means of “repairing” a mucked up CD. Can that also be done with DVD’s?

5. Last question. I noticed that NewEgg.com sells the 2510A both without software ($87) and with software (89.99). Their web page says something about Roxio software. I thought that the 2510A was bundled with Nero 6 something-or-other? What gives?

Thanks, y’all!