[moved]Plextor px-716A

vbimport

Hi,

I have just installed a brand new Plextor PX-716A DVD burner on my computer. I have troubles with it, it won’t accept Prodye+ 4xspeed or Philips+ 8xspeed medias. Can anyone help out here? Does it has something to do with the firmware?? In the Plextools Proffesional Version 2.20 it says:
Version: 5.1.2600-2180 (xp_sp_sp2_rtm) 040803-2158
Hope for some good advice!!

Mona “The Newbie” :sad:

Maybe a Mod can move this to the Plextor Forum for you, Might help to get some answers. Meanwhile here are the FAQ’s from that forum: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=49767. Also try the latest FW 1.08 and Plextools versions 2.25.:slight_smile:

Hi Mona, welcome to the forum!

What do you mean by “it won’t accept” your disks?

thank you!! Crossq, as I wrote, I’m a NEWBIE!! Will look into the firmware version you wrote…

Ciao, Mona :clap:

When I want to burn on a + disk in clonedvd2, the program writes to the hd, but wont write on any of my + disks… a friend of mine is coming over with a - disk, will see what happens, the drive is accepting both + and -.

Mona

All of the media you listed are cheap (low grade) media. At the very least, step up to verbatim, memorex, fujifilm or ritekg05 media. The best and most recommended media is taiyo yuden and verbatim (mcc03 and mcc04).

Hi :slight_smile:
Whether you’ve upgraded Plextools from 2.20 to 2.25 or not. You can use Plextools to do a ‘Media Quality Check’.
Start Plextools & goto Drive Settings, click Advanced tab, then Media Quality Check button.
This will tell you what the drive thinks of your media & the speed to record at.
Although as harley2ride suggests you could do a lot better, I’d still expect the Plextor to make some kind of effort.

Hi again,