Mount Rainier Tutorial - some questions answered

Hi,

Well I’m no expert on Mount Rainier, only got my LiteOn LTR-48125W a couple of days ago and this is my observation.

Yes it is very quick in formatting a CD-RW in the CD-MRW mode, infact only takes about 20 seconds, but there appears to me to be a few drawbacks, well, especially until Windows incorporates default Mount Rainier support into it’s Operating System, at present the latest is named Windows XP.

http://www.users.on.net/parker/mt_rainier/MtRainier.htm

There may still be a few bugs in the tutorial, let me know where they are.

If you’re interested in getting the tutorial zipped up, just post and I’ll see if OC-Freak can host somewhere, hopefully not in the dunny.

Hope you enjoy.

Cheerz :slight_smile: :smiley: :wink:

P.S. If the Hover Buttons don’t work for you, I included some HyperLinks on the bottom of each page.

Excellent work ! Thanks !

Wouldn’t be bad if this could be placed there as a sticky thread,
since the question about Mt.Rainier tends to surface from time to time.

Hi,

I didn’t think it would get pinned.

I betta go over it again to see how I can refine and make it better, I only spent a few hours on it before.

By doing it I know a little bit more about Mount Rainier, but also I am a little disappointed that Mount Rainier isn’t supported at this stage by Windows XP, you still require 3rd Party Software like InCD/EasyWriteReader from http://www.nero.com/en/index.html#root (bundled with CD-RW) or WriteCD-RW from http://www.softarch.com (costing between US$49.95 to US$69.95).

too bad ! :frowning: :bigsmile:

why use cdrw’s when cdr’s are so much cheaper and burn so much faster? I just don’t get it. Oh well. Still nice to know how to use it, especially once cdrw drives approach tolerable speeds(24x) i’ll consider trying it.
not intended as a rant/flame, only an opinion and question.

cd-rws and cd-mrws are not meant as a storage medium like cd-rs but rather as an large exchange medium.