Most compatable cd burner

vbimport

Does anyone have recomendation for a prosumer cd burner (Windows) that will be most widely compatable. I am a pro photographer and some clients say they can’t open my cd ont heir computer, but I can open it on mine without any problems

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

What brands of discs are you using? As that could well be the problem, as well as your burn speed.

Nevertheless, the Plextor Premium (or Premium II) would probably be the best if you can find one. Not cheap, though.

Personally I think my Samsung DVD burners (2x SH-S182D) do a good job of CD burning, as does my Optiarc AD-5170S.

yeah the burner,burn speed,and media play a big part.

Thanks for the quick response, I just ordered some gold archive cd to try. I should have mentioned that the burner I have is the one that came w/ sony Vaio. I read sowhere that sony drives are perhaps “special” in some bad way…

Grab this free tool 4.7.7.15 and put a disc in and post a screen shot from the Disc Info tab > http://www.cdspeed2000.com/

Edit:
Also where do you live? USA,EU etc…?

[QUOTE=Tony Molatore;2030988]Does anyone have recomendation for a prosumer cd burner (Windows) that will be most widely compatable. I am a pro photographer and some clients say they can’t open my cd ont heir computer, but I can open it on mine without any problems[/QUOTE]

First welcome to CDfreaks :slight_smile:

First we need more details about the media you are using and the type of your CD/DVD burner.

If you are using Nero you should find it out using the Nero Info Tool. WinOnCD, Roxio EasyCD/DVD Creator and other burning programs should also have this ability. But I’m not familar with all burning programs.

In most cases the reading problems caused of bad media quality. For this reason it is always a good choice to buy a good brand like Verbatim or genuine Taiyo Yuden media.