Moron with Rewriting problems

Hi people,First I apologise if my problem has already been covered. I have read through and there are a few threads that may relate to my problem however I am not very good with computer terminology, so please forgive me if I am an repeating topics :doh:
I am having CD rewriting problems.I have Xp home edition with the patches and my CDrewriter is Cyberdrive 16 12 40.I used to be able to burn mp3s without a problem, either as a CD or as a data/mp3 disc.I use Nero 5.5 and have used windows by itself for data /mp3.
Firstly the CDrewriter drive will only recognise a data disc when it feels like it.If I turn the PC on with a disc in it often works.
Secondly I don’t seem to be able to burn anything properly.Nero tells me the job is done,although it tells me it does not support the format first.I updated the Real player which changed the logo on my MP3s.I am not sure if this is when the problem started.I also ran a trial of Nero 6 for awhile that has been removed.
I hope somebody can make some sense of my problems.Help would be very much appreciated. :smiley:

difficult to say exactly what is the cause. many things can be responsible for the trouble you are having. try http://www.network54.com/Forum/thread?forumid=336827&messageid=1101539218&lp=1124233612

Thank you for your reply.I have had a look at that site but it is a tad confusing.I am being very honest when I say i know very little about these matters,I am trying to learn.
I know my CDWR is a cyberdrive CW038D.I can give a bit more info about my problem.When I try a MP3burn to a disc using nero,the program goes through the motions as it used to, but the CD comes out blank.When I try the same task using windows the CD is not blank but highly corrupted e.g. no sound and it registers 1 long track.
Maybe I should get an expert in??.I am stubborn though,I love to solve things without paying someone who may be bogus anyway.

sounds like you just need to update some drivers…